Working to improve the lives of working Men, Women and their Families in Coastal British Columbia


USW 1-1937 is a Union of 6000 hard working men and women.

The Members of this Local Union are employed in all sectors of the economy. USW Local 1-1937 has members in Forestry, sawmilling, Automotive, Cabinetry Manufacturing, Sports Complexes, municipal facilities and other sectors of the economy.

The Local Union is governed by the Executive Board which consists of the President, First Vice-President, Second Vice-President, Third Vice-President, Fourth Vice-President, Financial Secretary, Recording Secretary, Conductor, Warden, fourteen (14) Executive Board Members elected on a geographical (ward) basis, and a maximum of five (5) at large members appointed by the Executive Board. The President, 1st. Vice-President and Financial Secretary are elected full time positions. The remaining staff are hired business agents although many hold elected positions as well.

The Local Executive Board is representative of the Membership by allocating the Executive Board Members so they not only represent a certain geographical area, but are also elected by the Membership in their area. The Local Union’s borders run from Tsawwassen in the south on the mainland north to the Alaska Border and west including Haida Gwaii and all of Vancouver  Island.

The Ward areas are as follows:

Area #1 Haida Gwaii, Terrace, Kitimat, Prince Rupert,
Area #2 Mainland; Butedale, Seymour, Drury & Toba Inlets,               Vancouver Island – East, Port Hardy, Kokish,
Area #3 Vancouver Island – West; Quatsino Sound,
Area #4  Vancouver Island – South from Nimpkish to Naka Creek,
Area #5 Sunshine Coast – Squamish – Pemberton,
Area #6 Vancouver

Area #7 Duncan, Crofton, South Cowichan, Victoria

Area #8 Lake Cowichan – Port Renfrew,
Area #9 Chemainus – Ladysmith,
Area #10 Nanaimo – Qualicum,
Area #11 Mid-Island

Area #12 Port Alberni

Area #13 Nootka Sound - Gold River, Thasis, Zebellos